Round 9 F1 GFT AI Driver Rankings: Verstappen P1, Extends Point Lead After Canada Win

Bob Francis - Go Full Throttle
2 min readJun 30, 2022

--

30 June 2022
By Bob Francis, Managing Editor
Go Full Throttle Racing News

F1 World Champion Max Verstappen is on a roll. With back-to-back wins in Azerbaijan and Canada, “Super Max” has extended his points lead to +46 in the F1 Driver Points and whopping +60 in our Go Full Throttle AI Driver Rankings. Verstappen’s Red Bull teammate Sergio Perez DNF (20th place) at the Canada GP combined with the 5th place finish of season long rival Charels Leclerc of Ferrari resulted in the large increases to Max’s lead.

Formula 1 GFT AI Driver Rankings after Round 9 in Canada (Image: GFT Digital / gofullthrottle.net)

Verstappen relishing in the “proper racing” with the now-Ferrari driver.
Max Verstappen said “he was made to work hard for it” referring to his former Toro Rosso teammate Carlos Sainz.

“It was a tough race,” said Verstappen. “I expected to have a little bit more pace, but we seemed to lack a little bit compared to Carlos… It was a bit more difficult than I expected.

“We did our strategy, and I think for us it worked, that was the right one to do. At that second stop, of course I had the fresher tires and I was closing in on Carlos, but I wasn’t sure if I’d actually fully close that gap to the end of the race.

“But then the Safety Car came out and I was also not very happy with that, because then I knew of course he had fresh tires behind me, and already with I think a little bit more pace compared to me… But the last 15, 16 laps, we were flat-out pushing to the limit, and I knew of course that I couldn’t make a mistake. But it was good racing. It’s always more enjoyable to be able to really push in a Formula 1 car instead of just saving your tires.”

--

--

Bob Francis - Go Full Throttle

Go Full Throttle editors and reporters bring you news & commentary on NASCAR, F1, IndyCar, and World of Outlaws. Member: National Motorsports Press Association